Hunger Games Fondant Birthday Cake

And finally our last food project from yesterday, a Hunger Games birthday cake for our dear, sweet friend, Kaylee!  We are pretty happy with this one, except for a few minor imperfections, it came out great!  And, it is a tall cake which I was able to cover smoothly for the first time!  In the past, the tall ones have given me a nervous breakdown because I just couldn’t cover them smoothly but this one came together great!  The cake is chocolate based on the “White Almond Sour Cream Cake” recipe, our favorite buttercream icing and then covered with Satin Ice dark chocolate fondant.  The Mockingjay pin on the top and the flames on the bottom were all made out of Wilton white fondant that we colored.  Happy Birthday KK, we love you!

6 thoughts on “Hunger Games Fondant Birthday Cake

  1. That cake looks great! I created a Hunger Games cake in April – definitely not as professional looking as yours though – and posted it on my blog, wordymom.com. Having never worked with fondant before, I’m curious how you created the mockingjay pin. Did you freehand it? Also, how do you get the fondant to lay so perfectly on a round cake, is there a seam somewhere?

  2. Hi Karen,
    thanks for the compliment on the cake.
    Let me see if I can answer your questions.
    My daughter did the mockingjay pin, she printed a picture off the internet and then used it as a template to trace and get the correct shape. She is much better at the detail work than I am. She is getting better all the time and this one came out really good.
    No seams in the fondant. I roll the fondant out on a mat to a circle that is the size of the top of the cake plus the size of all the edges so this was an 8″ cake with two 2″ layers (so 4″ sides) so the circle has to be approximately 16″ in diameter to get it to cover the whole cake. Of course you’ll end up trimming some of that off once it’s on the cake but it has to be big in order to cover the whole thing. You can find videos online that will show you how to do it. Hope that answers your questions.
    Thanks for visiting my blog!
    Penny

  3. Hi there- I am trying to do a hunger games theme cake… and I tried a recipe for fondant today and it didn’t do well. Do you have a good recipe?

    • Hi Sarah! I have never made fondant, I always just buy it as the cake making process is so time consuming itself but there is a website called http://www.cakecentral.com and they have a recipe for a Marshmallow fondant or MMF that everyone always talks about on that website so you might try that one. Sorry I’m not more helpful.

      • Wonderful! Thanks so much for your advice! I will give it a while 🙂 Happy cake making!!

  4. Pingback: The Best Hunger Games Birthday Cake – Home, Family, Style and Art Ideas

Leave a comment